Review – ROCK CHICK SERIES by Kristen Ashley

I have been a fan of the Rock Chick series by Kristen Ashley for a long time now, and as I was reading the very last book which released this week, I realised I had yet to review this series! So here I am, with a quick, spoiler free full series review from one of the most fun fictional worlds I’ve ever been a part of. Happy reading.

Indy Savage, cop’s daughter, rock chick and used bookstore owner, has been in love with Lee Nightingale, once bad boy, now the man behind Nightingale Investigations, since she was five years old. No matter what ingenious schemes Indy used to capture his attention, Lee never showed an interest and Indy finally gave up. Now Indy’s employee, Rosie, has lost a bag of diamonds and bad guys are shooting at him. When Indy gets involved, Lee is forced to help. Complicating matters, Lee has decided he’s interested, Indy’s decided she’s not. But she can’t seem to keep Lee out of her life when she’s repeatedly stun gunned, kidnapped and there are car bombs exploding (not to mention she’s finding dead bodies).

Indy’s best bet is to solve the mystery of the diamonds before Lee. Lee’s challenge is to keep Indy alive and, at the same time, win back her heart.

It was about 4 years ago when I picked up my first Rock Chick book and I immediately became hooked, powering through the series like there was no tomorrow. No one writes alphas like Kristen Ashley does, she is the ultimate queen, and the Hot Bunch are some of my absolute favourites! And let’s not forget the kick ass heroines she writes either. The Rock Chicks give you endless amounts of laughs and crazy adventures, with countless tasers, shootings, and kidnappings.

Each book focuses on a different Rock Chick and her chosen Hot Bunch member, though we always get to see the whole gang in each book, and they are all just as loveable as the last. Eddie Chavez the sexy Mexican American police officer from book 2 was my favourite throughout the entire series, but then after book 8 we finally got Daisy and Marcus’ story (though it’s technically a prequel novella) and suddenly my heart was split in two by the most unlikely of character. *dreamy sigh*

And then to celebrate the authors 50th birthday, she surprised us with the book we have spent years begging for – Shirleen. She’s a favourite to everyone and I cannot tell you how happy I was to see her get her HEA. The series now officially feels complete, though I will continue to revisit the gang when I feel the need for an adventure. And now I mention it…

Rock Chick Reawakening #0.5 | Rock Chick #1 | Rock Chick Rescue #2 | Rock Chick Redemption #3 | Rock Chick Renegade #4 | Rock Chick Revenge #5 | Rock Chick Reckoning #6 | Rock Chick Regret #7 | Rock Chick Revolution #8 | Rock Chick Reborn #9

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana but has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multi-generational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland and existed amongst the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.

And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s