Review – PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy

Monica Murphy is back with a brand new killer YA! Check out my review below.

Beautiful. Perfect. Dead.

In the peaceful seaside town of Cape Bonita, wicked secrets and lies are hidden just beneath the surface. But all it takes is one tragedy for them to be exposed.

The most popular girls in school are turning up dead, and Penelope Malone is terrified she’s next. All the victims so far have been linked to Penelope—and to a boy from her physics class. The one she’s never really noticed before, with the rumored dark past and a brooding stare that cuts right through her.

There’s something he isn’t telling her. But there’s something she’s not telling him, either.

Everyone has secrets, and theirs might get them killed.

First off I need to say that I absolutely love this cover so much! I wanted to read this book because it was written by Monica Murphy, but even if it wasn’t, I would read it for the cover alone. It’s going to look super pretty on my bookshelf!

Now for the book…this one is kinda hard to review. I normally mention my favourite characters, but to be perfectly honest, I didn’t really like any of them, which made it SO hard to figure out who the killer was. They all seemed to have motives and I was desperate to get to find out who it was.

The book skipped from the POV of our main character, to the POV of the killer who seemed to be keeping some kind of journal or blog about their plans and murders, which made for interesting reading.

In all honesty, I did skim read some parts of the book; the characters were too bitchy and there just wasn’t really enough going on to keep me invested. Pretty Dead Girls definitely wasn’t my favourite book by Monica Murphy, but it kept me reading until the killer was revealed at the very end. Was I right? Gah, I was so close but no!

Fans of Scream Queens and Riverdale should definitely give this one a go.

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*



PRETTY DEAD GIRLS – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook





New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite. A wife and mother of three, she writes New Adult and contemporary romance for Bantam and Avon. She is the author of One Week Girlfriend and Second Chance Boyfriend.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s