Review – LOUD IS HOW I LOVE YOU by Mercy Brown

The first two books in the Hub City series are live; check out my review for book one, Loud Is How I Love You by Mercy Brown.

loud is how i love you


One girl’s heart gets rocked to the core in the first novel in this sexy New Adult series.

Twenty-one-year-old front girl Emmylou knows that getting her band noticed in the ‘90s indie rock scene will be no easy task. She definitely knows better than to break the number one rule of the band: Don’t sleep with your bandmates! But after she ends up having the best sex of her life with her guitarist, Travis, she finds following that rule is a lot harder than it sounds.

When the band gets the gig of their dreams, making it big seems just within reach. But Emmy’s inability to keep her hands off Travis threatens everything they’ve worked for. Can Emmy find a way to break the rules and not blow the chance of a lifetime?


Loud Is How I Love You is the first book in a brand new rock star series by Mercy Brown! If you’re expecting this to be your typical rock star love story then think again! The Hub series brings 90’s indie rock band, Stars On The Floor (commonly known as SOFT), made up of four early twenties college friends, and their search for fame and fortune.

I enjoyed this book but I think I would have liked it a lot more had Emmylou stopped being such a pain in the arse. She spent the majority of the book trying to convince herself and everyone around her that she shouldn’t be with Travis (because he’s the guitarist in her band and the number one rule of being in a band is “don’t sleep with your bandmates” *insert eye-roll here*), all the while jumping his bones at any given opportunity, and lying to her friends about it.

Emmy’s annoyingness aside, I did like everything else. The writing was great, though I think it could have done with more dialogue in places to help keep the reader fully engaged; I did find myself skimming some of the more descriptive writing. One thing that did keep me reading though, was the humour threaded throughout. Now, this type of quirky humour really isn’t for everyone, but I couldn’t help but laugh at some of the things which were said. I really loved the characters (again, ignoring Emmy’s immaturity), Travis was fab and I loved reading about all the escapades the band got up to. I’m looking forward to seeing more of them as the series continues.



Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook


mercy brown

Mercy Brown is the author of the Hub City Romance Series, published by InterMix/Berkeley. LOUD IS HOW I LOVE YOU is available now, and STAY UNTIL WE BREAK will be available in June 2016.

Mercy is represented by Brooks Sherman of the Bent Agency.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Booktropolous | Instagram


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s